DOE Launches New Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee

Popular Articles

Committee to provide advice and expertise on clean energy issues under the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.

Washington, D.C. – The U.S. Department of Energy today announced the establishment of the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC). ERAC is a federal advisory committee whose members will report directly to the Secretary of Energy with advice on the portfolio of the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE). The 19 members selected have experience in a variety of sectors and will bring a range of technical expertise and perspectives to the committee.

“We are fortunate to have such knowledgeable people volunteering their time and efforts to the Department’s clean energy endeavors,” said Secretary Chu. “They will be contributing their expertise and experience to help address the energy challenges faced by our Nation.”

ERAC will periodically review EERE’s portfolio and provide advice to the Secretary of Energy on a variety of areas including: completion of long-range plans, priorities and strategies; program funding; and any issues of specific concern expressed by the Secretary of Energy or the Assistant Secretary for EERE. ERAC is expected to meet twice a year; the meetings will be open to the public. The Committee is being established in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). DOE also expects to organize various subcommittees under ERAC. Learn more about the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee.

Below are the selected members of the ERAC:

Yet-Ming Chiang

Kyocera Professor of Ceramics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lonnie Edelheit

Senior Vice President, Research & Development, General Electric Company (Retired)

Ira Ehrenpreis

General Partner, Technology Partners

Philip Giudice

Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources

Hal Harvey

CEO, ClimateWorks Foundation

Mark Jacobson

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director, Atmosphere/Energy Program, Stanford University

Jay Keasling

CEO, Joint BioEnergy Institute and Professor, University of California, Berkeley

Neal Lane

The Malcolm Gillis University Professor, Rice University

Ed Lazowska

Bill & Melinda Gates Chair in Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington

Richard Lester

Japan Steel Industry Professor, Head of the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering, and faculty co-chair and founding Director of the Industrial Performance Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Kathleen McGinty

Operating Partner, Element LLC

Arati Prabhakar

Partner, U.S. Venture Partners

Stanley Pruss

Partner, 5 Lakes Energy LLC

Burton Richter

Paul Pigott Professor in the Physical Sciences Emeritus, Senior Fellow Freeman Spogli Institute of International Studies, Stanford University; and Director Emeritus, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Arthur Rosenfeld

Distinguished Scientist Emeritus, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Janette Sadik-Khan

Commissioner, New York City Department of Transportation

Subir Sanyal

President and Manager of Reservoir Engineering Services, GeothermEx, Inc.

Maxine Savitz

General Manager, Honeywell/AlliedSignal (Retired)

Mark Stoering

Vice President, Portfolio Strategy & Business Development, Xcel Energy

- Advertisement -

More articles

Latest articles

- Advertisement -